RTS Tower

Tour RTS

The volume of glass and polished steel seizes its surrounding environment and “climate”. It changes and reacts to the light, to the reflections of the sky and to the atmosphere of the river Arve. It is always different and never the same. The partially transparent façade allows its inner world to shine through. Depending on the activities taking place, it varies at every hour of the day and the night. It is a show case of a working community, always moving, with the connections and networks showing through the big windows at the big scale of the city. There is no indication of levels, no small windows, but a fluent and active pixel like texture suggesting activities of communication, stream and network. There is equally no image of a “fortress”, quite on the contrary the large openings towards the landscape create an image of many display cabinets for the encounter and exchange between the employees and the public, paying attention to the issues of the contemporary world.
Presently the tower is a rectangular volume with a vertical orientation. It is a celebrated landmark, slightly cold and relatively opaque. The project proposes to not only work with its façade but also with its volume, so that the landmark will become a symbol…
a) Open the form…the volume in form of an “I” becomes a “z”; a solitary form becomes a form integrated in its environment.
b) Addition of a poetical aspect to the form… a building with a strong vertical orientation due to steel elements becomes a building pixelated by steel elements; a volume without image becomes a volume of images; a silent volume becomes a murmuring volume; it has been turned into a cheerful building.

Categories
architecture / réalisé /
Date

2010

Status

Construit

Location

Genève GE CH

Collaborators

Alan Castoldi, Frédéric Crausaz, Christian Pesch, Alfonso Gonzalez

Surface (SP)

18'400

Tour RTS

Tour RTS

Le volume de verre et d’acier poli capte l’environnement et le "climat" qui l’entoure. Il change et réagit à la lumière, aux reflets du ciel, à l’atmosphère de l’Arve. Il est toujours différent, jamais le même. Le volume de verre et d’acier poli laisse filtrer son monde intérieur. Au gré des activités qui s’y déroulent, il se différencie à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit. Il est la vitrine d’une collectivité de travail, toujours mouvante, dont les connexions et les réseaux s’affichent derrière de grands vitrages, à l’échelle de la ville. Pas de sédimentation des étages, pas de "petites fenêtres", mais une texture mobile, active, qui, tels des pixels, dénote une activité de communication, de flux, de mise en réseau. Pas d’image de "citadelle", mais de grandes ouvertures sur le paysage qui sont autant de vitrines publiques de la rencontre et de l’échange entre les collaborateurs et le public, à l’écoute du monde contemporain.
La tour est aujourd’hui un volume rectangulaire dressé verticalement. Elle est un emblème hiératique, un peu froid et relativement opaque. Le projet propose d’agir non seulement sur sa façade, mais aussi sur sa forme, afin que d’emblème elle devienne symbole...
a) Ouvrir la forme... c’est passer d’un volume en "i" à un volume en "z"; c’est passer d’une forme solitaire à une forme qui se plie dans un environnement.
b) Poétiser la forme... c’est passer d’un volume verticalisé par l’inox à un volume pixelisé par l’inox; c’est passer d’un volume sans image à un volume d’images; c’est passer d’un volume silencieux à un volume murmurant; c’est passer à un volume gai.

Catégories
architecture / réalisation /
Date

2010

Statut

Construit

Lieu

Genève GE CH

Collaborateurs

Alan Castoldi, Frédéric Crausaz, Christian Pesch, Alfonso Gonzalez

Surface (SP)

18'400